Wednesday, June 17, 2009


  • Auctoritas - The sense of one's social standing, built up through experience, Pietas, and Industria.

  • Comitas - Ease of manner, courtesy, openness, and friendliness.

  • Clementia - Mildness and gentleness.

  • Dignitas - A sense of self-worth, personal pride.

  • Firmitas - Strength of mind, the ability to stick to one's purpose.

  • Frugalitas - Economy and simplicity of style, without being miserly.

  • Gravitas - A sense of the importance of the matter at hand, responsibility and earnestness.

  • Honestas - The image that one presents as a respectable member of society.

  • Humanitas - Refinement, civilization, learning, and being cultured.

  • Industria - Hard work.

  • Pietas - More than religious piety; a respect for the natural order socially, politically, and religiously. Includes the ideas of patriotism and devotion to others.

  • Prudentia - Foresight, wisdom, and personal discretion.

  • Salubritas - Health and cleanliness.

  • Severitas - Gravity, self-control.

  • Veritas - Honesty in dealing with others.

The fourteen virtues of Marcus Aurelius

Now, we must all fear evil men. But there is another kind of evil which we must fear most, and that is the indifference of good men.
The Boondock Saints

No comments: